Home » 31 for 21 » Momma Monday: 31 for 21: Day 19 The best thing about Down syndrome…

Momma Monday: 31 for 21: Day 19 The best thing about Down syndrome…

The Best

The Best

…is the community surrounding and holding it up. I often found myself shying away from other mommies stories about their “amazing” kids when Zuzu was a newborn. Don’t get me wrong, I am over-the-moon proud of each and every one of my girl’s accomplishments. But there frequently seemed to be a “show and tell” or “lookee me” quality to the way other mothers would talk about their children. They so seem to think that their child’s accomplishments are a clear reflection on their parently prowess. At least that is how it came across to me. Everyone should be proud, but it often has felt like another parents level of interest in if Zuzu is talking or walking, or sleeping or pooping was in direct proportion to their need for an opener to tell me about their little darlings steps, words, Zzzzz or poo-poos. It often has felt like their inquiries into my child’s well being were really just a springboard for their own bragfest.

With The Quail, peoples’ inquiries don’t hold that feel. They seem more earnest, thrilled and curious. The optimism I’ve observed and felt about parenting since this dear Quail has come into my world is awesome. I would have expected it to be the other way around if I had to guess or anticipate what it would be like to talk about my daughter that has Ds’s accomplishments. It is such a pleasant surprise. If she didn’t have this diagnosis these people wouldn’t be in my life and I might have just gone on feeling shy and like it was arrogant to brag so freely.

Although on second thought, maybe the community’s spirit and optimism is the second best thing about Down syndrome; since I’m pretty sure The Quail herself is the best thing.

Thoughts?